These are a Few of My Favorite Things..

So anyone that knows me expects me to associate everything in life to a song, and they’re correct.  At least it seems like it; songs pop into my head and the best way to play it out (pardon the expression) are to sing them all day, much to the dismay of my staff…or maybe I can blog about them?

The insurance connection?  That’s easy, “when the dog bites, when the bee stings, when I’m feeling sad, I simply remember ‘I have insurance’ and then I don’t feel so sad”.  No, I don’t sell health insurance nor do I prescribe anti-depressants but the dog bite, sure thing.  If Fifi decides she has had a bad day and decides to lash out, you may well need some liability coverage. I know, a little poetic license but I bet you’re singing this in your head also now.

What else can I say about this song?  It makes me smile, and in a world where so many things are screwed up, we can find joy in simple things.  Let’s reflect on the other verses:

Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens

Bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens

Brown paper packages tied up with strings

These are a few of my favorite things

Cream colored ponies and crisp apple strudels

Doorbells and sleigh bells and schnitzel with noodles

Wild geese that fly with the moon on their wings

These are a few of my favorite things

Girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes

Snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes

Silver white winters that melt into springs

These are a few of my favorite things

Lists are all over the internet if you need some inspiration on finding the simple things.  Here are a few that make me smile:

  • Snow (sorry – but piled on the tops of tree limbs with clear skies)
  • Sunshine!
  • Meeting new people
  • Pizza
  • Lightning storms
  • A good hug from a friend
  • Open windows
  • A fresh peach
  • Hope of my faith

I believe I could go on for a very long time, but it is time to head to the office soon and sell something…

jeffspring@allstate.com, springfamilyagency.com, 814-774-4080

Leave a Reply

