Paralysis by Analysis – A Process to Help

I cannot tell you how many times that people have asked me for too many choices – “just tell me everything available and I’ll decide after I review them all”.  I might as well send them down the street because it is MY FAULT for not establishing my authority, knowledge, and value on the subject – shame on me!  Then comes the anticipated question, “So you are making the decision for them?” or, re-phrased “So you think you know what’s better for them than they do?”.  The answer is no, I do not know the best decision for them but I do know that the choices are exponential and this is my area of expertise so eliminating part of the confusion is my job.

dictator

One thing I have learned about myself is that I need to make decisions quickly or they will rule me.  I try like heck to think things through and have people in my life whom help give me feedback on the big ones.  Here are a few things to consider:

  1. Departmentalize – Not like your budget, just organize “big” and “small” ones – give them the attention they deserve based on their importance.
  2. Listen to your gut – What does your instinct tell you to do? What option brings you the most satisfaction and joy? What feels right? When your fear is no longer driving the decision-making process, you can trust the guidance you receive from your intuition.
  3. Determine Your Goals – You need to know if the decision is going to affect your long or short-term goal
  4. Mostly Right is Alright – Unless the decision is life-altering, the 80/20 rule applies where you need to invest 80% of effort just to achieve that incremental 20% improvement in your final decision
  5. Be the Expert – nothing helps make a decision more quickly than being expert enough to know what to eliminate immediately
  6. Junk Wars – Ever clean up your garage and find stuff you should never have kept – do it now, eliminate the crap and stop including that in your option palette
  7. No Pillar of Salt – Are you really looking back after you already made a decision?  But what if I had…blah, blah, blah…think Lot’s wife
  8. You’ve Got 15 Minutes – “Work expands so as to fill the time available for its completion.” – if you don’t set a time limit, it may well take forever!  (15 minutes is just an example)
  9. Are You Needed? – I mean, do you personally need to be involved in this decision or can someone you trust make the call – find those people, the relief will be great
  10. Red or Blue Dress? – Take the time to ask a friend and then trust that choice – if you continually disregard those opinions, they will not give them again

choices-feature

So there are many more options of what to try to help with this paralysis, but if you didn’t really read the ones above, you will have a hard time deciding where to begin anyways.

Let me help with your decisions on insurance – car, home, life, business, and more.

In PA call 814-774-4080, in OH call 440-964-2222 or visit us at http://www.springfamilyinsuranceagency.com

jeffspring@allstate.com

Leave a Reply

