A Day Without Facebook is Like a Day Without Sunshine…or Tragedy…or…

We are what we read is what they say – or for us old computer guys, GIGO (Garbage In, Garbage Out)…and so goes Facebook.  Yes, I am on Facebook a LOT.  The good thing is that my boss does not mind because it helps me connect to people around me – and that is my job.  He also doesn’t mind if I blog, my outlet for the numerous things jumping around in my scattered brain.  So what about Facebook?

volcanopregnanthelping_handsturtlefunny1

Facebook is life – holy cow, did I just say that?  Okay, Facebook is a slice of life and the one people want us to see.   But the editors of these posts are real people, not some news broadcasters spinning content, not some ‘reality’ TV show with amateur actors, and not some people that are always righteous and positive.  You take the good with the bad when you’re on Facebook…but you decide what you take in.

fbfunnyfacebook_fails_and_wins_part_3_640_05facebook_fails_and_wins_part_3_640_27fbpostfunny

People hurting immensely when their child dies from a heroin overdose, political posturing because of the probable public audience, and humorous quips and videos from around the world.  Nothing spreads more quickly that the extreme though – the worst tragedies and the cutest animals,  birth to death in all the wonderful and gory details.

catselfie Harley-V-rod-1130cc-Turbo-4 Women_of_Marvel_2_Cover_by_mikemayhewbag-eye-4

Take what you want from Facebook – and give back what you see fitting.  Just remember a couple things; some posts are cries for help, some are advice from sages and some from fools, others are just to take up space in your mind.

I chose simple things:

I hear babies crying, I watch them grow
They’ll learn much more than I’ll never know
And I think to myself what a wonderful world

jeffspring@allstate.com

http://www.springfamilyinsuranceagency.com

Leave a Reply

